Because of the international situation, FAIR and GSI have suspended all collaborations with Russian institutes and companies, including those that were active in the HED@FAIR collaboration before Feb. 24th 2022.

General scope of the collaboration

The plasma physics community will have access to a high energy beamline at FAIR. The target station will be located in the APPA cave, a 900 m2 fully shielded environment. More information can be found here:



The bylaws of the collaboration can be found here

Collaboration Board

Vincent Bagnoud - Chairman


Matthew Freeman

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Joachim Jacoby

Goethe University Frankfurt am Main

Roberto Piriz

Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha

Cheng Rui

Institute of Modern Physics, Lanzhou

Dominik Kraus

HZDR/University of Rostock

Christian Spielmann

Friedrich Schiller University Jena

Collaboration Member Institutes


  • Xi’an Jiaotong University, Shaanxi
  • Xianyang Normal University, Shaanxi
  • Institute of Modern Physics, Lanzhou

Czech Republic

  • Czech Technical University, Prague
  • Institute of Plasma Physics of the Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague


  • Laboratoire pour l’Utilisation des Lasers intenses, Palaiseau
  • CNRS (CEA, Universite Bordeaux), Bordeaux
  • CELIA, Universite Bordeaux, Bordeaux
  • Centre d'Etudes Nucléaires de Bordeaux Gradignan  (CENBG), Gradignan


  • Friedrich-Schiller-Universität, Jena
  • Justus-Liebig-Universität, Gießen
  • Technische Universität, Darmstadt
  • Heinrich-Heine-Universität, Düsseldorf
  • Goethe Universität, Frankfurt
  • HZDR, Dresden
  • Universität Rostock, Rostock
  • Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron, Hamburg
  • Christian-Albrechts-Universität, Kiel


  • Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot


  • Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Ulsan


  • Academia Europaea Bergen Hub, Bergen


  • Babeş-Bolyai University, Cluj
  • Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of IASI, Iasi

Russia [Suspended]

  • Institute for Theoretical and Experimental Physics of NRC Kurchatov Institute (ITEP), Moscow
  • Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow
  • Institute of Problems of Chemical Physics of Russian Academy of Science, Chernogolovka
  • Joint Institute for High Temperatures, Moscow
  • P.N.Lebedev Physical Institute, Moscow
  • Joint Institute for Nuclear Research, Moscow
  • National Research Centre ‘Kurchatov Institute’, Moscow
  • National Research Nuclear University MEPhI, Moscow


  • University of Castilla-La Mancha, Ciudad Real


  • University of Warwick, Warwick


  • Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley
  • SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Menlo Park
  • US Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, D.C.
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore

Becoming a Member  - How to Apply?

Any individual can apply to become a member of the collaboration. For this you must download the file below, fill it up and send it back. The application form asks you to describe shortly:

  • what your interest is
  • what you are bringing

As a member you will benefit from the technical support of the FAIR team through the collaboration, you will be informed about the latest developments through the email list and will have a favored channel to access to the exciting experimental capabilities of FAIR in the APPA cave.

Individual or institution membership

Because of the diversity of the research groups involved in plasma physics. Applications based on the individual interests and application motivated by institution strategic partnership are possible. Individuals will be directly represented in the collaboration and are responsible for their activity. Institutions need to name a representative that speaks for the whole group in that institution.