Department of Vacuum Systems (VAC)

The main responsibility of the vacuum group is maintaining and upgrade of the vacuum systems for the GSI accelerator complex (Unilac, SIS18, ESR, and Cryring).  The vacuum group is also responsible for the design and layout of the FAIR accelerator vacuum systems, i.e. High Energy Beam Transport (HEBT), Synchrotron SIS100, Super Fragment Separator(SFRS), proton Linear Accelerator (p-Linac), and anti-proton (P_bar).  The acceptance tests for GSI/FAIR vacuum components and the R&D on vacuum physics/techniques are carried out in the vacuum laboratory.  In addition, the group is deeply involved on the development of the new vacuum control system.


Department Head

Dr. Andreas Krämer

Tel: +49-6159-71-2082

Office: C24 1.002


Dr. Maria Cristina Bellachioma

Tel: +49-6159-71-1361

Office: C24 1.022

Technical Administration

Bernd Müller

Tel: +49-6159-71-1370

Office: C24 1.005