FAIR-GENCO Annual Meeting and Awards Ceremony


This year's annual meeting of the “FAIR-GSI Exotic Nuclei Community (GENCO)” recently took place at GSI/FAIR as part of the “NUSTAR Annual Meeting”. In addition to a festive colloquium and the award winners' session, it offered an opportunity to meet many members and friends of GENCO. The keynote speech was given by Professor em. Juha Äystö (Univ. Jyväskylä, Finland) on the topic “Precision experiments with stopped exotic nuclei”.

The Young Scientist Award was presented to Dr. Ali Mollaebrahimi from the Justus Liebig University in Giessen this year for his findings in the field of nuclear structure using modern time-of-flight mass spectrometers at the FRS Ion Catcher and the TITAN experiment at TRIUMF in Vancouver (Canada).

The Young Scientist Award is presented annually by GENCO to outstanding young researchers working in the field of experimental or theoretical nuclear physics or chemistry. The winners are selected by an international jury. The prize is endowed with 1,000 euros.

At the end of the annual meeting, the vice presidency changed hands from Wolfram Korten (CEA Saclay, France) to Zsolt Podolyak (Univ. Surrey, UK), who had also taken over the chair of the NUSTAR collaboration's Board of Representatives the day before.

Furthermore, several new members of the FAIR-GENCO community received the “FAIR-GENCO Membership Award”:

  • Iain Moore (Univ. Jyväskylä, Finland) for significant contributions to laser spectroscopy of exotic nuclei and the development of an extensive scientific program ranging from fundamental studies to new applications such as nuclear clocks;
  • Pieter Doornenbal (RIKEN Nishina Center, Japan) for leading several highly successful international collaborations, including the Euroball-RIKEN Cluster Array, which enabled the first nuclear spectroscopy experiments on the double-magic nucleus 78-Ni;
  • Andrea Jungclaus (CSIC-Madrid, Spain) for the development and application of instruments and methods to study isomeric decays, magnetic moments and other nuclear structure properties of the most exotic nuclei around the second r-process abundance peak at various facilities worldwide;
  • Frédéric Nowacki (Univ. Strasbourg, France) for his long-term collaboration with GSI experiment groups, which has led to a very impressive list of high-impact joint publications;
  • Markus Steck (GSI) for his decisive, highly specialized contributions to the successful realization of the worldwide unique nuclear physics research program at the ESR, especially with respect to the cooling and manipulation of radioactive nuclear beams. (CP)
Further information