IT-Service: Wiki

Quick guide

GSI/FAIR operates multiple Wiki instances based on Foswiki. The main Wiki can be found at wiki.gsi.de. All persons with a valid weblogin account have access. The wiki automatically registeres a new user account after the first login.

Read and write permissions are configured individually for every web. To gain access to certain areas you possibly have to join a group first.

Service description

The main wiki can be used to organize any kind of documentation. Information can be collected in single pages (topics), changes are saved in a history and links between topics can be created easily by using WikiWords.

Topics can be edited using a WYSIWYG or text editor. Text supports Foswiki's own markup language.

%TRANSLATE{"At the IT department the wiki is also used to track and visualize *vacation times* with the help of the [[Foswiki:/Extensions/HolidaylistPlugin][HolidaylistPlugin]]."
  de="In der IT-Abteilung wird das Wiki auch eingesetzt, um mithilfe des [[Foswiki:/Extensions/HolidaylistPlugin][HolidaylistPlugins]] *Urlaubszeiten* zu dokumentieren und übersichtlich darzustellen."}%

It is possible to create restricted webs, which can only be changed or even read by one or more groups. Groups and webs are controlled completely by the group's members.

Files can be attached to topics. This way you can embed pictures or other documents (<10MB) into your text. For file sharing and larger files we recommend our file synchronization and sharing service (Seafile). Seafile download links can be embedded into wiki text as hyperlinks.

A users guide to Foswiki can be found in the Wiki.

---++ %TRANSLATE{"Unmanaged Wikis" de="Selbstverwaltete Wikis"}%

%TRANSLATE{"The IT department provides [[https://foswiki.org/][Foswiki]] instances, which are managed by some other groups, e.g. the [[https://cbm-wiki.gsi.de][CBM Wiki]] and the [[https://panda-wiki.gsi.de][Panda Wiki]]. This service is only available to meet specific requirements:"
  de="Die IT-Abteilung stellt [[https://foswiki.org/][Foswiki]]-Instanzen bereit, die von Gruppen selbst verwaltet werden können, etwa das [[https://cbm-wiki.gsi.de][CBM-Wiki]] und das [[https://panda-wiki.gsi.de][Panda-Wiki]]. Dieser Dienst steht nur für bestimmte Anfoderungen zur Verfügung:"}%

   * %TRANSLATE{"*Many webs:* An unmanaged wiki can be a good choice if you can predict that your project is going to need many webs, subwebs and possibly many groups and subgroups to keep content well-arranged."
       de="*Viele Webs:* Wenn vorauszusehen ist, dass mehrere Webs und Unterwebs und miteinhergehende Gruppen und Untergruppen notwendig sein werden, um die Inhalte zu verwalten, ist ein selbstverwaltetes Wiki eine gute Möglichkeit die Übersicht zu behalten."}%
   * %TRANSLATE{"*Wide user group:* Every person with a valid Weblogin account can log into the main wiki. Even persons external to GSI/FAIR can aquire such an account. An unmanaged wiki can be a solution if for some reason it is impossible for every user to have a Weblogin account."
       de="*Weiter Benutzerkreis:* Das Hauptwiki ist für jede Person mit einem gültigen Weblogin-Account verfügbar. Solch ein Account kann auch für externe Personen beantragt werden. Ein selbstverwaltetes Wiki ist dann eine Lösung, wenn die Mitglieder keinen Weblogin bekommen können."}%
   * %TRANSLATE{"*Special design/layout:* Every web in the main wiki can have it's own design. The simplest way is to modify the used CSS files. After testing the IT department can even install a special skin. An unmanaged wiki should therefor only be needed if the required design strongly differs from the main wiki."
       de="*Spezielles Design/Layout:* Im Hauptwiki kann in jedem Web ein eigenes Design gesetzt werden. Am leichtesten lässt sich dies durch eigene CSS-Dateien umsetzen. Nach Prüfung ist es auch möglich ein eigenes Skin installiert zu bekommen. Ein selbstverwaltetes Wiki sollte daher nur dann notwendig sein, wenn das Design stark vom Hauptwiki abweichen soll."}%
   * %TRANSLATE{"*Self-written or inofficial plugins:* The main wiki only uses official plugins and some which were created by the IT department. The focus lies on stability of the wiki. If you require other plugins, get in contact with the IT department, because under circumstances security related questions have to be resolved."
       de="*Eigene oder inofficial Plugins:* Im Hauptwiki werden offizielle und von der IT erstellte Plugins installiert. Der Fokus bei der Auswahl der Plugins liegt auf der Stabilität des Wikis. Sollten Sie andere Plugins brauchen, sprechen Sie dies mit der IT ab, da unter Umständen sicherheitstechnische Fragen geklärt werden müssen."}%
  • Topic: A topic is a page in a Wiki. Its name is usually written in WikiCase to enable easy linking between topics.
  • Web: A web is a structure to organize topics and can be compared to a folder. Every web can have many sub-webs (i.e. sub-folders). Webs inherit their preferences, but they may be overwritten in their own WebPreferences topic.
  • WikiWord: Capitalized words without white space between them are used as topic titles. When used in text they are automatically linked to the corresponding topics.
  • TML: The topic markup language is a special text format used in Foswiki topics to simplify topic text.

Availability and support

  • Availability: twenty-four-seven
  • On-call duty: not covered
  • Backup: complete system and built-in version control
  • Support hours: Mo-Fr during core working hours
  • Support email: wiki-service @ gsi.de

Loading...

IT-Service: Wiki

Schnelleinstieg

Die GSI/FAIR betreibt mehrere Wiki-Instanzen auf Basis von Foswiki. Die Hauptinstanz ist unter wiki.gsi.de zu finden. Zugang haben alle Personen mit einem gültigen Weblogin-Account. Nach dem ersten Anmelden registriert das Wiki automatisch einen neuen Benutzeraccount.

Lese- und Schreibrechte werden für jedes Web einzeln vergeben. Um Zugang zu bestimmten Bereichen zu bekommen, müssen Personen daher unter Umständen zuerst in Gruppen aufgenommen werden.

Service-Beschreibung

Das Hauptwiki dient der Organisation von Dokumentation jeglicher Art. Informationen werden in einzelnen Seiten (Topics) gespeichert, Änderungen werden in einer Historie verwaltet und Verlinkungen können auf einfache Art durch sogenannte WikiWords zwischen den Topics erzeugt werden.

Topics können mit einem WYSIWYG- oder Text-Editor bearbeitet werden. Text unterstützt Foswikis eigene Markup-Sprache.

%TRANSLATE{"At the IT department the wiki is also used to track and visualize *vacation times* with the help of the [[Foswiki:/Extensions/HolidaylistPlugin][HolidaylistPlugin]]."
  de="In der IT-Abteilung wird das Wiki auch eingesetzt, um mithilfe des [[Foswiki:/Extensions/HolidaylistPlugin][HolidaylistPlugins]] *Urlaubszeiten* zu dokumentieren und übersichtlich darzustellen."}%

Es können zugangsbeschränkte Webs angelegt werden, für die nur bestimmte Gruppen Schreib- oder sogar Leserechte haben. Gruppen und Webs werden vollständig von den Gruppenmitgliedern verwaltet.

Im Wiki können auch Dateien abgelegt werden. So können Bilder oder andere Dokumente (<10MB) in das Topic eingebunden werden. Für den Dateiaustausch und größere Dateien empfehlen wir unseren Cloudspeicher (Seafile). Download-Links von Seafile können in Wiki-Text als Hyperlinks eingebaut werden.

Eine Anleitung zur Bedienung des Wikis finden Sie direkt im Wiki.

---++ %TRANSLATE{"Unmanaged Wikis" de="Selbstverwaltete Wikis"}%

%TRANSLATE{"The IT department provides [[https://foswiki.org/][Foswiki]] instances, which are managed by some other groups, e.g. the [[https://cbm-wiki.gsi.de][CBM Wiki]] and the [[https://panda-wiki.gsi.de][Panda Wiki]]. This service is only available to meet specific requirements:"
  de="Die IT-Abteilung stellt [[https://foswiki.org/][Foswiki]]-Instanzen bereit, die von Gruppen selbst verwaltet werden können, etwa das [[https://cbm-wiki.gsi.de][CBM-Wiki]] und das [[https://panda-wiki.gsi.de][Panda-Wiki]]. Dieser Dienst steht nur für bestimmte Anfoderungen zur Verfügung:"}%

   * %TRANSLATE{"*Many webs:* An unmanaged wiki can be a good choice if you can predict that your project is going to need many webs, subwebs and possibly many groups and subgroups to keep content well-arranged."
       de="*Viele Webs:* Wenn vorauszusehen ist, dass mehrere Webs und Unterwebs und miteinhergehende Gruppen und Untergruppen notwendig sein werden, um die Inhalte zu verwalten, ist ein selbstverwaltetes Wiki eine gute Möglichkeit die Übersicht zu behalten."}%
   * %TRANSLATE{"*Wide user group:* Every person with a valid Weblogin account can log into the main wiki. Even persons external to GSI/FAIR can aquire such an account. An unmanaged wiki can be a solution if for some reason it is impossible for every user to have a Weblogin account."
       de="*Weiter Benutzerkreis:* Das Hauptwiki ist für jede Person mit einem gültigen Weblogin-Account verfügbar. Solch ein Account kann auch für externe Personen beantragt werden. Ein selbstverwaltetes Wiki ist dann eine Lösung, wenn die Mitglieder keinen Weblogin bekommen können."}%
   * %TRANSLATE{"*Special design/layout:* Every web in the main wiki can have it's own design. The simplest way is to modify the used CSS files. After testing the IT department can even install a special skin. An unmanaged wiki should therefor only be needed if the required design strongly differs from the main wiki."
       de="*Spezielles Design/Layout:* Im Hauptwiki kann in jedem Web ein eigenes Design gesetzt werden. Am leichtesten lässt sich dies durch eigene CSS-Dateien umsetzen. Nach Prüfung ist es auch möglich ein eigenes Skin installiert zu bekommen. Ein selbstverwaltetes Wiki sollte daher nur dann notwendig sein, wenn das Design stark vom Hauptwiki abweichen soll."}%
   * %TRANSLATE{"*Self-written or inofficial plugins:* The main wiki only uses official plugins and some which were created by the IT department. The focus lies on stability of the wiki. If you require other plugins, get in contact with the IT department, because under circumstances security related questions have to be resolved."
       de="*Eigene oder inofficial Plugins:* Im Hauptwiki werden offizielle und von der IT erstellte Plugins installiert. Der Fokus bei der Auswahl der Plugins liegt auf der Stabilität des Wikis. Sollten Sie andere Plugins brauchen, sprechen Sie dies mit der IT ab, da unter Umständen sicherheitstechnische Fragen geklärt werden müssen."}%
  • Topic: Ein Topic ist eine einzelne Seite im Wiki. Der Name wird normalerweise in WikiCase geschrieben, um einfache Verlinkungen zwischen Topics zu ermöglichen.
  • Web: Ein Web ist eine Struktur zum Ordnen von Topics und kann mit einem Ordner verglichen werden. Jedes Web kann wieder Sub-Webs, also Unterordner, haben. Webs erben ihre Einstellungen, diese können aber im eigenen WebPreferences-Topic angepasst werden.
  • WikiWord: Großgeschriebene Wörter, welche direkt hintereinander stehen, werden als Topic-Titel verwendet. Wenn sie im Text vorkommen, werden sie automatisch mit den entsprechenden Topics verknüpft.
  • TML: Die Topic Markup Language is ein spezieles Textformat, welches zur Vereinfachung von Textgestaltung in Foswiki genutzt wird.

Verfügbarkeit und Support

  • Verfügbarkeit: durchgehend
  • Rufbereitschaft: nicht abgedeckt
  • Backup: Gesamtsystem und eingebaute Versionskontrolle
  • Support-Zeiten: Mo-Fr innerhalb Kernzeit
  • Support-Email: wiki-service @ gsi.de

Loading...