Uwe Niedermayer is awarded DPG Young Scientist Prize for Accelerator Physics


Dr. Uwe Niedermayer has received the Young Scientist Award for Accelerator Physics of the German Physical Society (DPG). The award honors his scientific achievements in the development of simulation programs that are used, for example, for the design and calculation of future accelerators at GSI/FAIR and CERN as well as his contributions to the realization of a laser driven accelerator on a chip.

Niedermayer works at the Institute for Particle Acceleration and Electromagnetic Fields (TEMF) in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Information Technology at the Technical University of Darmstadt. There he is part of the group of Professor Oliver Boine-Frankenheim, head of the GSI accelerator physics department. In his doctoral thesis, Uwe Niedermayer also carried out simulation calculations for the design of the ring accelerator SIS100, the heart of the FAIR accelerator center currently being built at GSI.

The prize is awarded to Uwe Niedermayer for his outstanding scientific achievements during his doctorate and initial research phase. An acceleration scheme he conceived is regarded as one of the most important breakthroughs on the way to a novel laser-driven, dielectric electron accelerator on a microchip. At the same time, Niedermayer's research makes important contributions in the field of high-temperature thin-film superconductors for the design study of the Future Circular Collider (FCC) planned at CERN in Geneva.

"With his work, Uwe Niedermayer has already acquired an international reputation and high esteem after a relatively short research phase. His activities lead us to expect further outstanding research results in the near future," is stated in the appreciation. The research prize, awarded by the DPG und its Arbeitskreis Beschleunigerphysik (AKBP), is intended to promote accelerator physics as an independent field of research in Germany and is awarded to young researchers at German universities or research institutions whose doctoral thesis was completed no more than five years ago and who have distinguished themselves through outstanding, original and independent research contributions.

The prize was presented at the DPG's machine learning seminar in the physics center in Bad Honnef. During the event, the expertise with accelerators in Darmstadt was honoured even one more time by an award ceremony: Dr. Bernhard Franzke received the Horst Klein Prize of the DPG Arbeitskreis Beschleunigerphysik, which is aimed at internationally renowned scientists who have distinguished themselves through outstanding achievements of great significance and high originality. The prize had been awarded to him in spring (as reported), but could not be presented at that time. Bernhard Franzke has been a leading accelerator physicist at GSI for many years and was significantly involved in the construction and development of UNILAC, the ESR and many experiments. In the years 2000 until 2005 he played an important role in developing the concept of the storage rings at FAIR. (BP)