The new accelerator facility FAIR is under construction at GSI. Learn more.


Funded by


Markus Steck receives Dieter Möhl Medal


This year's Dieter Möhl Medal for achievements in and contributions to the field of beam cooling and applications goes to Dr. Markus Steck, head of the GSI department "Storage Rings". He received the award for his leading role in the systematic studies of electron and stochastic cooling at GSI leading to the first experimental observation of ordering in an ion beam. The medal was handed over by the chairman of the programme committee, GerardTranquille of the European research centre CERN, on September 22, 2017 in the framework of the COOL17 conference in Bonn, Germany. Takeshi Katayama of Nihon University, Japan, also received the award.

The medal was sponsored after the death of Dieter Möhl in 2012 by CERN. The awardee is chosen by a selection committee. The medal is awarded every two years during the COOL conference. Name patron Dieter Möhl supported the planning of new accelerator facilities at GSI in committees and as advisor for many years. After his retirement he provided important contributions to the planning of the FAIR storage rings and especially the design of their beam cooling systems with his counsel.

Dr. Markus Steck
Photo: G. Otto, GSI Helmholtzzentrum für Schwerionenforschung